Les machines de l'ile : Infos and prices of the gallery of machines in Nantes
<i class="fas fa-calendar-alt"></i> Réservation
Visits & Outings

Machines of the island

The origin of the island's machinery

The enchanting machines that populate the Ile de Nantes today are the result of an artistic project carried out by Pierre Orefice and François Delaroziere. A meeting of aesthetics and technique, these poetic and monumental creatures are inspired both by the visionary world of Jules Verne and the mechanical genius of Leonardo da Vinci. They fit quite naturally into the urban landscape of a city that has developed for such a long time through its industrial vocation: in the former shipyards, large machines nowadays make young and old dream. They evoke the ever more distant journeys made possible by human technical advances, but also the spirit of exploration which is still Nantes'. With their apparent mechanisms, the machines of the island are themselves inspiring. Like a sectional drawing from an inventor's sketches, they show the sublime contrast between the complexity of the gears and the simplicity of the raw materials, but also between an imaginative fairy-tale aesthetic and pure mechanical performance. By unveiling to the public the manufacturing process of the machines, the two designers of the project reconcile science and poetry, art and mechanics, stage and backstage. The result is an achievement that is at once playful, inspiring and educational.

Visit of the machine gallery

The machine gallery is the test area, sometimes for adjustments to the Nantes workshops of large machines. A real mechanical bestiary awaits you there, to which the site's machinists give life. The gallery presents the prototypes of numerous creatures, most of which are destined to later populate the Heron Tree, a titanic project in progress. Among them, the giant hummingbird foraging for flowers, a sloth, a heron with a wingspan of 8 metres, a spider and a giant ant, or even a caterpillar: so many creatures that you can take control of yourself! The visit of the gallery is also the opportunity to let you tell the story of each creation by the machinists, and to discover the sketches that made possible the realization of the other great creations of the island with the machines: the now mythical Great Elephant, as well as the carousel populated with creatures of the abyss. Opposite the gallery, the terraces of the workshops allow you to watch the construction sites in progress: at a height of more than 7 metres, you can observe the work of the builders of these fantastic creatures made of wood and steel. A film is also projected, which goes back to the origins of the Machines de l'île project and to previous achievements. 

Rates and schedules

From November to March, the ticket office of the island's machines is open from 2pm to 5pm on weekdays and from 2pm to 6pm on weekends and school holidays. In April, May, June, September and October, it opens from 10 am to 5 pm on weekdays and from 10 am to 6 pm on weekends and school holidays. It is also open from 10 am to 7 pm from the second week of July to the third week of August. The visit of the site continues one hour after the ticket office closes, i.e. from 6 to 8 p.m. depending on the period. An annual closure takes place in January. There are several departures during the day, every three quarters of an hour, 7 days a week in the summer and during school holidays, and 6 days a week the rest of the year. The ticket office offers tickets for the visit of the Grand Gallery, the Grand Elephant trip, and the carousel tour of the sea worlds. Each of these tickets gives access to the terraces of the workshop and to the prototype branch of the heron tree. The ticket for the trip on the Great Elephant costs 8.50 euros full fare and 6.90 euros reduced fare. The trip is free for children under 4 years old. The animated visit of the Machine Gallery is also offered at the price of 8.50 euros full price and 6.90 euros reduced price. Same rates for the visit of the carousel with a ride. Without a ride, the price for a visit to the carousel is 6.30 euros full price and 5.30 euros reduced price. The purchase of a full-fare ticket for the carousel leads to a reduction in the price of admission to the gallery. 

Categories :
of integration to be placed at the bottom of the

Les machines de l'ile : Infos et tarifs de la galerie des machines à Nantes
Réservation
8.3
10

Note moyenne sur 477 avis

Voir les avis
Visites & Sorties

Machines de l’île

À l’origine des machines de l’île

Les machines féeriques qui peuplent aujourd’hui l’île de Nantes sont le fruit d’un projet artistique mené à bien par Pierre Orefice et François Delaroziere. Rencontre de l’esthétique et de la technique, ces créatures poétiques et monumentales s’inspirent tout à la fois de l’univers visionnaire de Jules Verne et du génie mécanique de Léonard de Vinci. Elles s’intègrent tout naturellement au paysage urbain d’une ville qui s’est aussi longtemps développée à travers sa vocation industrielle : dans les anciens chantiers navals, les grandes machines font aujourd’hui rêver petits et grands. Elles évoquent les voyages toujours plus lointains permis par les avancées techniques humaines, mais aussi l’âme exploratrice qui est toujours celle de Nantes. Avec leurs mécanismes apparents, les machines de l’île sont elle-même inspiratrices. Elles donnent à voir, comme un plan en coupe tiré des croquis d’un inventeur, le contraste sublime entre la complexité des engrenages et la simplicité des matériaux bruts, mais aussi entre une esthétique imaginative féerique et la performance mécanique pure. En dévoilant au public le processus de fabrication des machines, les deux concepteurs du projet réconcilient science et poésie, art et mécanique, scène et coulisses. Il en ressort une réalisation tout à la fois ludique, inspirante et pédagogique.

Visite de la galerie des machines

La galerie des machines est la zone de test, parfois de réglages des ateliers nantais des grandes machines. Un véritable bestiaire mécanique vous y attend, auquel les machinistes du site donnent vie. La galerie présente les prototypes de nombreuses créatures, qui ont pour la plupart vocation à peupler ensuite l’Arbre aux Hérons, un projet titanesque en cours de réalisation. Parmi elles, le colibri géant butineur de fleur, un paresseux, un héron de 8 mètres d’envergure, une araignée et une fourmi géante, ou encore une chenille : autant de créatures dont vous pourrez prendre vous-mêmes les commandes ! La visite de la galerie est aussi l’occasion de vous laisser conter l’histoire de chaque création par les machinistes, et de découvrir les croquis qui ont permis la réalisation des autres grandes créations de l’île aux machines : le désormais mythique Grand éléphant, ainsi que le carrousel peuplé de créatures des abysses. Face à la galerie, les terrasses des ateliers vous permettent d’assister aux chantiers en cours : à plus de 7 mètres de hauteur, vous pourrez observer le travail des constructeurs de ces créatures fantastiques de bois et d’acier. Un film est également projeté, qui revient sur les origines du projet des Machines de l’île et sur les précédentes réalisations. 

Tarifs et horaires

De novembre à mars, la billetterie des machines de l’île ouvre de 14h à 17h en semaine et de 14h à 18h les week-ends et jours de vacances scolaires. En avril, mai, juin, septembre et octobre, elle ouvre de 10h à 17h en semaine et de 10h à 18h les week-ends et jours de vacances scolaires. Elle ouvre enfin de 10h à 19h de la seconde semaine de juillet à la troisième semaine d’août. La visite du site se poursuit une heure après la fermeture de la billetterie, soit de 18h à 20h selon les périodes. Une fermeture annuelle a lieu au mois de janvier. Les voyages en Grand éléphant font l’objet de plusieurs départs dans la journée, tous les trois quarts d’heure, 7 jours sur 7 en été et durant les vacances scolaires, et 6 jours sur 7 le reste de l’année. La billetterie propose des tickets pour la visite de la Grande Galerie, le voyage en grand éléphant, et le tour de carrousel des mondes marins. Chacun de ces billets donne accès aux terrasses de l’atelier et à la branche prototype de l’arbre aux hérons. Le billet du voyage en Grand éléphant coûte 8,50 euros tarif plein et 6,90 euros tarif réduit. Le voyage est gratuit pour les moins de 4 ans. La visite animée de la Galerie des machines est également proposée au prix de 8,50 euros tarif plein et 6,90 euros tarif réduit. Mêmes tarifs pour la visite du carrousel avec un tour de manège. Sans tour, le prix de la visite du carrousel est de 6,30 euros tarif plein et 5,30 euros tarif réduit. L’achat d’un billet tarif plein au carrousel entraîne une réduction sur le prix d’entrée à la galerie. 

Categories :